County Championship & Spring Meeting 2021

Libby and MaddieThis event was held at Hollinwell from Friday the 14th May through to Sunday the 16th of May, the weather forecast was dreadful but was exceedingly kind to us apart from late on Saturday afternoon when it absolutely chucked it down! It was great to see so many competitors at Hollinwell and the scores were good overall. Thank you to all those who entered and continue to support County golf, I hope that you enjoyed your game and managed to catch up with old friends and maybe even make some new friends whilst enjoying competitive golf.

The results are reported in full below, but of note on the Friday was the morning best gross and nett round played by Maddy Smith who managed a score of 8 under par for a total of 67 – this is a course record. Cheryl Gee just missed out on the best nett with a score of 68 - a fabulous score. Congratulations go to all those who qualified for the knockout matches which were played over the weekend and to our new County Champion Libby Kilbride. The spectators were all treated to an extremely high standard of golf and the matches were all both nail biting and exciting.

Finally, a big THANK YOU to all the people who worked so hard behind the scenes to make the event as successful as it was, to Hollinwell for hosting us and all the green staff who worked to present the course in such fabulous condition. There were several difficulties to overcome due to the Covid restrictions, but everyone rose to the challenge as usual. Hopefully, the Summer Meeting will be played under normal conditions.

County Week Selection

The first team to attend MNR County week at Hinckley Golf Club, from 28th to 30th June 2021, was selected after the championships and is as follows: Maddy Smith, Amelia Wan, Libby Kilbride, Vicky Johnson, Caron Harrison, Emma Anderson, Carol Houghton and Julie Revill. The selection was based on many factors including performance, availability and experience.

Helen Haycox
County Captain

Cup Winners

NCLGA Champion 2021
Libby Kilbride (Notts Ladies)  
Runner Up Lauren Spray (Notts Ladies)  
Semi finalist Madeline Smith (Norwood Park)  
Amelia Wan (Notts Golf Club)  
36 Holes Scratch Madeline Smith (Norwood Park) 67+76 = 143
36 Holes Handicap Elizabeth Wilson (Norwood Park) 77+64 = 141
Stacia Scrimshire Salver Madeline Smith (Norwood Park) 67+76 = 143
18 Holes Scratch PM Lauren Spray (Notts Ladies) 71
18 Holes Handicap PM Elizabeth Wilson (Norwood Park) 64
18 Holes Scratch Spring Meeting Madeline Smith (Norwood Park) 67
Runner Up Libby Kilbride (Notts Ladies) 78 on c/b
18 Holes Handicap Spring Meeting Madeline Smith (Norwood Park) 67
Runner Up Cheryl Gee (Serlby Park) 68
3rd Place Suzi Anderson (Sherwood Forest) 72 on c/b
Spencer Watson Sheild Norwood Park 489


County Championship Matchplay

Q 1st Round Semi-Finals Final Winner
1 Madeline Smith Madeline Smith Libby Kilbride Libby Kilbride
8 Caron Harrison
5 Libby Kilbride Libby Kilbride
4 Vicky Johnson
3 Lauren Spray Lauren Spray Lauren Spray
6 Elizabeth Wilson
7 Amelia Wan Amelia Wan
2 Emily Rowbottom


List of prizewinners can be downloaded here and the matchplay results can be downloaded here.