Rule of the Month

July 2021


If the ball is just off the green and a sprinkler head is interfering with the line you want to putt on, can you move your ball? If so, where to and how?

Sprinkler headThis is still a Local Rule that will be on your Scorecard if it is available. It you do have the Local Rule on your scorecard you are allowed a free drop for Line of Play as well as Stance or Swing from a Fixed Sprinkler Head (an Immovable Obstruction) on or next to the Putting Green.
If a ball lies in the General Area and is within two-club lengths of the Immovable Obstruction (Fixed Sprinkler Head), which is on or within two club-lengths of the putting green and intervenes on the line of play between the ball and the hole, the player may take relief as follows:-
PuttingThe ball must be lifted and dropped within one club length of the point where the ball lay, not nearer the hole, which avoids the intervention and is not in a penalty area or on a putting green. The ball may be cleaned when lifted. Exception: A player may not take relief under this local rule if the player chooses a line of play that is clearly unreasonable.
You do not need a Local Rule if the Fixed Sprinkler Head only interferes with your Stance or Swing. You can take relief, as with any Immovable Obstruction, by finding the nearest point of complete relief, not nearer the hole, take a club-length from there and drop into the relief area in the General Area (probably on the apron) but not on the putting green.